Attachment Parenting

I haven’t seen this cover of Time magazine before, so I was shocked to see it and read about Dr. Sears’s work on attachment parenting.  After researching this topic further, I don’t think attachment parenting would be for me, but that doesn’t mean I’m refuting it.  If women wish to parent that way, it is their own individual decisions to make.  If women are against attachment parenting, that is their choice as well.  I don’t believe either method will make you a “good” or “bad” mother.  That being said, I don’t think Dr. Sears is an anti-feminist.  I think he just truly supports mothers who wish to practice attachment parenting, and that doesn’t make him an anti-feminist.  Although Sears agrees more with attachment parenting, I don’t think he’s saying that the role of the woman is to be a mother.  I feel like different women parent in different ways, and this issue of attachment parenting is a personal issue, not societal.  

Leave a Reply

