Street Harassment

Street Harassment

I didn’t even know I was a victim of street harassment because it’s become so common now a days. It’s become so difficult to be a female and just walk down the street without being honked at or whistled at. I don’t understand why males think it’s “okay” to yell obscenities at women on a daily basis. Street harassment is such a familiar part of today’s society and it should not be acceptable.

As for personal experiences with street harassment, I can certainly relate. I grew up in a small town, literally one square mile, so before I got my license I walked EVERYWHERE. It was basically impossible to walk down the street without having guys in my town beep at me. I’ve seen guys make kissy faces out their car windows as they drove by and I’ve had crude things yelled at me. I never thought anything of it because it’s something I saw nearly everyday.

One of my other friends, on the other hand, has experienced a violent form of street harassment. While walking home from school one day, a group of guys driving past her literally pulled over, got out of the car, and smacked her butt. Not only is that street harassment, but it’s sexual harassment, and that just goes to show how street harassment can escalade into more violent forms of harassment.

If people don’t start acting against street harassment, it can only go down hill from here. Street harassment if one of the most common forms of harassment against women and it should not be taken lightly.

Leave a Reply

