Body Image

Body Image

Body image became important to me my freshman year of high school. My whole life I was underweight – not because of an eating disorder or anything like that – I was just naturally very thin. When I started high school, I gained about 10 pounds over the summer. I was still thin, and no one else seemed to notice, but I certainly did. I posted this picture with my blog post because it goes along perfectly with how I was feeling.

With all the advertisements and pictures in the media, society has created molds of the perfect bodies – for both men and women – and if you don’t fit the molds society makes you feel bad about it. If more advertisements featured people of all different body types, I think the self esteem of teens and adults would go up. Seeing people of all different colors, shapes, and sizes on advertisements would break the molds of this “perfect” body image. I wouldn’t say the media is responsible for how people feel about themselves, but I would say that they aren’t making people feel any better.

One thought on “Body Image

Leave a Reply

